External Advisory Committee

The strategy, vision and scientific advice for the Institute are provided by an External Advisory Committee (EAC). This council is composed of selected individuals from private agricultural industries; state and federal agencies involved in foreign animal/trans-boundary emerging and zoonotic diseases; biological and pharmaceutical industries; and nationally and internationally recognized senior scientists involved in foreign animal, emerging and/or zoonotic disease research and/or modeling.

Members of the EAC provide important perspectives and scientific advice on key issues and concerns in the private sector, as well as approaches and activities in relevant government agencies. They also offer advice on linkages, potential funding opportunities, and overall direction as well as key scientific advice, programmatic review and evaluation.

Current members include:

  • Dr. Casey Barton Behravesh* | Director, One Health Office and Captain, United States Public Health Service | Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
  • Ms. Tianna Brand | Head of Programmes Department | World Organisation for Animal Health
  • Dr. Gail Golab | Chief Veterinary Officer for Scientific Affairs and Public Policy | American Veterinary Medical Association
  • Mr. Keith Hamilton | Senior ChargĂ© de mission | World Organisation for Animal Health
  • Dr. Jamie Jonker | Vice President, Scientific and Regulatory Affairs | National Milk Producers Federation
  • Dr. Bret Marsh | State Veterinarian | Indiana Board of Animal Health
  • Dr. Subhash Morzaria | Senior Animal Health Adviser | FAO of the United Nations
  • Dr. Keith Roehr | State Veterinarian | Colorado Department of Agriculture
  • Dr. Gerald Rushin | Director, Office of Interagency Coordination | APHIS Veterinary Services
  • Ms. Joyce Turk | Independent Consultant and Retired Senior Livestock Advisor at the USAID Bureau of Food Security
  • Dr. Jessica Watson | Manager, Animal Health Policy | National Cattlemen’s Beef Association
  • Dr. Patrick Webb | Director of Swine Health Programs | National Pork Board
  • Dr. Justin Widener | Industry Representative | Health for Animals
  • Ms. Leah Wilkinson | VP of Legislative, Regulatory and State Affairs | American Feed Industry Association
  • Mr. Ross Wilson | President and CEO | Texas Cattle Feeders Association

Ex Officio Members:

  • Dr. Bruce Akey | Director | Texas A&M Veterinary Medical Diagnostic Laboratory
  • Dr. Susan Ballabina | Deputy Vice Chancellor | Texas A&M AgriLife
  • Dr. Dan Hale | Associate Director | Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service
  • Dr. Linda Logan | CVM Director of International Programs | Texas A&M College of Veterinary Medicine & Biomedical Sciences
  • Dr. Roxann Motroni | National Program Leader for Animal Production and Protection | Agricultural Research Service
  • Dr. Patrick Stover | Vice Chancellor and Dean for Agriculture and Life Sciences | Texas A&M AgriLife

*Dr. Barton Behravesh is serving in her personal capacity